The Sounds we See: Films from the Echo Park Film Center

Saturday, October 1, 2016 at 8pm

  • For the past fifteen years, the Echo Park Film Center in Los Angeles has been sharing a love of small gauge film with people of all ages and backgrounds. This program will feature works made by a multi-generational group of 31 filmmakers from the Echo Park Film Center as they explore their neighborhoods over a 24-hour period. Films will be shown on their original Super 8, 8mm, and 16mm formats.

    Presented by Rick Bahto, filmmaker and Operations Manager at the EPFC.


    Diallo Smith, Flannery Seager-Strode, and Josh Conde
    Cyclists Commandeer Los Angeles
    2013, 5 minutes, 16mm, b/w, sound

    Sam Glover, Juan Ramon, and Dana Capistrano
    The Rally Point (excerpt)
    2013, 2 minutes, 16mm, b/w, sound

    Walter Vargas
    LA Rising – fm
    2012, 14 minutes, 16mm, color & b/w, sound

    Martine Syms
    2014, 2.5 minutes, Super 8, color, sound

    Marilyn Hernandez
    2014, 3 minutes, Super 8, color, silent

    Paris Taylor
    2014, 3 minutes, Super 8, b/w, sound

    Georgiana Olivas
    Tuned Out
    2014, 3 minutes, Super 8, b/w, sound

    Penelope Uribe-Abee
    Dear Diary
    2012, 5 minutes, 8mm, b/w, sound

    The Sound We See: An Echo Park City Symphony
    2014, 30 minutes, 16mm, b/w, sound
    filmmakers: Maya Abee, Rick Bahto, Marvin Cardenas, Tuni Chatterji, Paolo Davanzo, Clay Dean, Amy Halpern, Andrew Kim, Eve LaFountain, Jesse Lerner, Lisa Marr, Kate McCabe, Dr. Jules Medina, Beaux Gest Mingus, Gina Napolitan, James Noel, Will O’Loughlen, Georgiana Olivas, Ellie Parker, Alee Peoples, Miko Revereza, Chloe Reyes, Pia Schiavo-Campo, Cosmo Segerson, Sharmaine Starks, Mike Stoltz, Paris Taylor, Eugene Timiraos, Penelope Uribe-Abee, Pablo Valencia, and Pedro Verdin.
    Music by Jon Almaraz, Celeste Evans, Andrew Koeth, Anna Luisa Petrisko, William Sabiston, and Cosmo Segurson.

  • Rick Bahto introduces the film program

    Rick Bahto with 16mm and super8 projectors